What!? A Month, Already!?

Time flies when you are having fun! That’s so true. I am already living in Valencia for one month now, even I cannot believe it! The fact that I am already abroad for a month scares me since I only have four more months to go. I already know now that those months will be going too fast and that I will not be ready to go home in January. Step by step I explore the city and with every new corner, cosy restaurant or view I come across I love the city more. I start to get to know some inside places and restaurants but the more I explore, the more I realize I will never be ready with this city and there will be always way more to discover. Two years ago I was in Valencia for the first time with my mom. We both can still remember me saying while walking next to the university buildings: “it would be amazing if I can study here one day!”. Now this is reality! With everyday that passes I love the city, its inhabitants and its atmosphere more and more.

The last weeks have been filled with classes, figuring out schedules, grocery shopping at El Mercado Central, afternoons at the beach, drinks in the cosy neighborhood El Carmen and in hipster area Ruzafa, rooftop parties and wandering around in the little streets of this magical city.

I am glad to share some of the snaps I took exploring the city.

El Mercado Central

DSCF3113

DSCF3115La Turía

DSCF3130

DSCF3185

La Marina de Juan Carlos I

DSCF3137

DSCF3140

DSCF3150

DSCF3164

La Playa de la Malvarrosa

DSCF3203

DSCF3207

Today I walked around in the neighborhood of Torres de Quart. Every time again I walk in the old city I am surprised of the numerous wall paintings which are funny, beautiful and sometimes unexpected.

DSCF3217

DSCF3220

DSCF3221

DSCF3230 DSCF3249

DSCF3277

DSCF3281

Today some music attracted me and I started walking towards the noise. I discovered a colorful parade of the Arabic and Christian communities in Valencia performed by youth. This event is a 600 year old tradition, of which they are very proud.

DSCF3293

DSCF3304

DSCF3314

DSCF3328

DSCF3347

After missing me for a month, my parents and I can look forward to seeing each other again in a couple of days. They will be visiting me and they will have the chance to explore this beautiful city as well! I am looking forward to it!

Besos

L.

Leave a Reply

