Internships and extracurricular projects

A couple of blogs ago I said I was planning on blogging more in 2017. Well, that was the plan so far, I failed. Life is being busy. “With what?” you might think. With the 3 following things:

  • My internship at Studio Globo
  • My dissertation for my master’s degree in Corporate Communication
  • Studio Zambia, the extra-curricular project I am working on

A typical day in my life consists out of being at my internship from 9 to 5 and working on my dissertation or project after. Busy life it is.

A month ago I updated you on my internship at Studio Globo. At the point I am writing this it is almost over, 1 day to go. It has been a blast, I have met a lot of wonderful people, I have seen amazing things and I have learned a lot. After my visit in Matonge, I mostly stayed at the headquarters of Studio Globo in Brussels. Though, through the world wide web I travelled a lot. I wrote an article about Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, one of my favorite writers, which I linked to the organization. In addition, last week I wrote a text for the website about food waste and its problems. Did you know that ⅓ of all produced food is wasted? That’s 1,3 billion kilograms, that’s a lot! With all this food more than 2 billion people would be able to eat! It was very interesting to do the research for this article and to learn more about this topic. Next to writing these texts, I worked on a small campaign for ‘the week of the volunteer’. Volunteers are very important for Studio Globo and they wanted to thank them once again. That’s why we interviewed three of the volunteers and shared the interviews on Facebook. Moreover, we sent them all a postcard as a thank you note. Further, I have been partly in charge of the social media of this organization. I learned a lot about how the post, when to post and what to post on which channel. It is an amazing thing that I learn so much at my internship, not only how to write better texts/ facebook post/ crisis management plans for a certain target group but I also  may write about things that are close to my heart.

For now, I won’t talk about my dissertation since my analyses is still in full process. Once I have some results, I will update you on the interesting topic I’m working on. As third big project I’m one of the project students of Academics for Development and I’m working on one of their projects. Studio Zambia, a project in Mfuwe, Zambia, is one that aims to empower students to have their voices heard. Studio Zambia wants to do this by means of theatre. In this way the project wants to give the students a voice, boost their self-confidence and raise awareness about taboo topics in the entire community. As a project student I have been working on this project since October. This year we want to focus on financial and content sustainability. We want to make Studio Zambia self-sufficient in a way the project students can fall away and the project can only function with local people. Fortunately, I’m not working alone on this project. We are with the five of us, Anne, Fergal, Rowin, Thijs and me. Together we will also travel to Mfuwe in summer. During my stay in Zambia I will keep you updated through this blog as through the Studio Zambia blog. This last one you can already follow, as we are posting regularly about the progress we make. You can find the blog here!

group pic

The Studio Zambia team: Fergal, Rowin, our coach Nikki, Lise (me), Thijs and Anne

Before taking off to Zambia a lot of work still has to be done, as I hopefully graduate before hopping on a plane. First, Wilma is going to wander again. I need some time off to relax and unwind from my internship and the busy period the last months were. I’ll keep you posted on my relaxing trip but I won’t say anything yet. Stay tuned!

Hasta luego,
Lise

Leave a Reply

